Sir Kay: Loose Ends

OK, so back a month or two ago–gee, was it only 2 weeks?–I posted the last chapter of Sir Kay. And everybody gave a good sigh at the happily-ever-after ending, and went on about their day feeling good.

So . . . what loose ends did I leave insufficiently tidied up?

loose ends 3 croppedMy tireless writing partner, SusanH, gave me these comments in her infamous green edits that I dealt with.

~~ I’ve only been joking about wanting to hear Kay and Oswald discuss women and weddings. (Although I know I would delight in reading your/their take.) But in seriousness, this chapter feels too light on Oswald. He turned into a major secondary character and it feels unbalanced not to hear his voice and wisdom in this last chapter—and reprise briefly their clever banter.

Oh Kay, that was a pretty serious oversight. Hopefully I corrected that to everyone’s satisfaction.

~~ I want to hear a more emotional take on Kay’s joy with his life as it is now. Probably only need a sentence or two since this chapter shows me exceedingly well how things are going between them. I “know” how it is; I just want to feel it, too.

I attempted to deal with that one as well, although I personally didn’t see the need. I attribute that to the temporizing effect of having a Y chromosome, and tried to please my readers that don’t. But not knowing where the shortcomings were, I’m not sure I handled it correctly.

LOOSE ENDS THAT I DIDN’T TIE UP (both causing at least some small degree of discomfort with my writing partner):

⇒ Morgan’s relationship with her brother. I didn’t feel like I had a lot of leeway here without totally destroying the ending that I set up in Strange Bedfellows as well as the fundamental nature of the original story. But, as Ginny pointed out, I have virtually completed the rehabilitation of Morgan le Fay (although SusanH is still a little pissed that she slept with her sister’s boyfriend).

⇒ WHY did Maleageans spare Sir Kay? Sorry, I’m not tidying that up. Book groups have to have SOME questions to discuss when they choose this novel.

ANY OTHERS THAT YOU WANT TO TELL ME ABOUT?

And one other point. The best title I’ve been able to come up with is still: Kaffka, the Holy Grail, and a Woman that Reads: The Quests of Sir Kay. I’ve discarded a dozen attempts at improving it, but it still seems a little flat. Thoughts?

⇒ If you provide the ultimate title, I’ll mention you in the acknowledgements (or if that proves impossible, at least give you a free copy).

loose ends 2

2 thoughts on “Sir Kay: Loose Ends

  1. I had my say. And liked the tying up. As for Morgan? I have my theory about Maleagean’s act of mercy. I’ll save it for book group as you suggest. Missing Sir Kay these days.

    • I am just now catching up with you again. Read the whole thing over a couple of days’ plane trips, and have posted a mostly Amazon-ready review here (happinessisfreesf.blogspot.com/2014/07/the-life-and-adventures-of-sir-kay-by.html).

      I didn’t see any real loose ends–thought I did with Agravain but you tied it off in the last chapter.

      There are a few typos but I assume you’ve caught them by now. One subtle usage issue–in one of the later chapters you referred to either Elaine or Morgan (can’t remember which) as “indiscrete”. One would hope they are not in several parts. Believe the word intended was “indiscreet”.

      I enjoyed the book, but this is probably your novel that most depends on the reader having a previous appreciation of Arthurian literature. Since your educational blog posts won’t be there, readers will have to bring their own Arthurian background. That’s OK, it’s the audience you want, but it wouldn’t be a good point at which to enter your world.

      That entry point is Bradley Schuster. I’m looking forward to reading your latest version. The last one I read is your novel that, in my opinion, depends least on previous appreciation of Camelot. You just need some general cultural awareness, and anyone that would pick up a book called Bradley Schuster and the Holy Grail would have that.

Leave a Reply

