Working Ahead

Back in the dark ages, when I was working for a living and didn’t have all of you faithful blog readers eagerly waiting for the next chapter, I had a different method of editing. After finishing the first draft I would sit on it for a few days, then read the whole work in a couple of days–the infamous “critical read.” That part hasn’t changed. But then I would put my nose to the grindstone and work nonstop on the first edit until it was done. Consume all of my writing time, so I wasn’t working on anything new or feeding that part of my brain that wants to create.

Can’t say I was particularly fond of the process, but it was what I did.

When I began posting chapters of Strange Bedfellows two years ago, I changed that process. I edited each chapter just before posting it. Made the process much more delicious and less of a hassle. And while that spread the editing process out over several months instead of several weeks, it allowed me to write in between.

So basically you my blog peeps saved me from myself. And for that I am grateful.

But . . . I’m going to Singapore on Wednesday for 11 days (on business, as a consultant). Or I think it will be 11 days. I cross the international dateline twice. Coming back is the real trip (as in trippy, not that it’s longer than the trip over). I leave Tokyo at 3:30 on Saturday afternoon–having already flown 7 hours–fly for 12 hours, and get into Houston at 1:30 on Saturday afternoon. Who says time travel isn’t possible!

Anyway, the point of this all is, I don’t know how possible it will be for me to do chapter edits and post them on schedule. My iPad is a nice little toy, but it’s not a serious tool for writing. And knowing that there could well be some fatalities from disappointment if I just didn’t post, I’ve editing all the chapters through next Friday in advance.

Brought back memories of the old days. And reminded me how much better I like the news days.

Not to mention that I’m retired and not working (not rubbing that in or anything).

singapore2

3 thoughts on “Working Ahead

Leave a Reply

