LOL

I’ve posted 10 chapters, and we’ve hardly talked about the book at all! My fault. I should be posting discussions and related materials on Tuesdays and Thursdays, but I’ve been building a deck instead. My son Saxon was on spring break, so we hit it hard every day. After we finished, it was all I could to lift my arms, much less write a blog post. Here’s one thing I already knew but was reinforced dramatically during the week: he’s a LOT younger than I am.

So I compromised and posted only once/week except for chapters. But then Strange Bedfellows came out, and with it a swirl of other activities to blog about.

Bottom line is: I’ve been slacking off on my responsibilities. There’s a picture at the end so you’ll know I haven’t been a total slacker, but that’s not the same thing.

So today, we’re going to talk about the book.

Truthfully, I like it a lot. I’d like to be friends with Sir Kay; he’s just my kind of offbeat character. And I’d like to have a sidekick like Oswald. But one of the things I’ve enjoyed most about the book is that it continually makes me laugh.

I mean, what the hell? I wrote it, I shouldn’t be laughing at it. But I do. There were places during the critical read that made me cringe, but there were a lot more that made me laugh.

Here are a trio that I marked to share with you (although hopefully you’ve already read them recently and laughed at them as well). These are all witty phrases, subtle plays on words–not entire ludicrous situations like Sir Kay heading off to rescue a dog.

From Chapter 9:

I hold the theological hypothesis that all gods are, at their core, a touch sadistic. The way they toy with the humans they created. At this point it’s only a theory—there may be some delightful, generous goddess on some far away island somewhere that we up here on the British islands have never heard of. But any divinity who would hide a treasure out in the Northern Marshes was a truly sadistic son of Anubis.

Another from Chapter 9 (I must have been in rare form the day I wrote that chapter):

Which of course caused Lady Lorena to burst into tears again. “Oh, poor Miffy. Can’t we ride any faster, Sir Knight?”

Sure, we can ride faster. None of the rest of the party stops to pick flowers. But then, none of us have delicate heinies either. That’s a lady’s job. A knight’s job is to be a hardass.

Here’s one from yesterday’s post, Chapter 10:

“Who be it? What kind of half-assed challenge is ‘who be it?’ Where the hell did you grow up, the island of Jersey?

I’ve never though of myself as particularly funny. Certainly not growing up. It was only the last few years at work that I realized people were constantly laughing at things I said.

I guess I made a good choice to write humorous fiction rather that drama.

OK, as promised, here’s the deck. Not finished yet, but lookin’ good. We worked a while on the walkway today, got it all framed out and ready to put the decking on (that’s the old one you see in the foreground).

deck final

7 thoughts on “LOL

  1. Your books make me laugh. And smile. I’m in the midst of one right now. Well, not midst. 🙂 I’m actually at the 82% point. What I really enjoy about your books is that I CAN enjoy them on a second or third read-through.
    I think we’ve all been a bit (cray-cray) busy. Very much so. I don’t even like blogging so I can’t imagine what it’s like to do as much as you do and then turn around and blog. What I hope is that others enjoy the chapters you share. It’s wonderful to read something of yours in a half-baked state. What’s really cool is then I get to see how close to fully baked it actually was. You’ve a gift.

    Oh, and the deck looks good. 🙂

      • 1st draft… It’s still pretty rough. I’ve made some changes to the direction of the story along the way and have to go back and correct that… especially having to deal with a misbehaving woman. 🙂

        I’ll start my first editing run through this week. I’ve already been doing a little editing here and there to get stuff ready to read for critique, but so far that’s only about 4 chapters at this point.

Leave a Reply

