Publicity

Most authors I know would happily avoid the whole publicity thing. Write books, somehow they magically sell themselves.

Doesn’t work that way in the 21st century, unfortunately. Once you’ve “made it,” maybe. JK Rowling doesn’t have to flog her novels, and she does OK (she is the United Kingdom’s best-selling author since records began, with sales in excess of £238,000,000). But for the rest of us, not so much.

So a new book comes out. You send out press released to all newspapers and on-line publications in the area. As far as I know, only one picked it up (the papermagazine.com), but you never know.

Stella, who in known and respected widely by lots of people in the business, submitted an article to the Conroe Courier which was published today. That same article was picked up by Here Houston, which has an even bigger readership. It’s a fun article, available here if you haven’t already seen it.

Strange Bedfellows was also mentioned in USA Today’s list of recommended Paranormal Romances. If I started with a blank sheet of paper I don’t know that I’d classify SBF as a paranormal romance, but I guess in a way it is. Closer than science fiction, young adult, or western I suppose. It’s still very fun to see your name in USA Today.

I attempted to offer Return from Avalon (and Points West) for free for a week, but we sort of crossed paths and it was reduced to $0.99 instead. But there has been a lot of recent movement in the Amazon sales rank. Which doesn’t mean a thing to me, except that there is new interest from somewhere.

Twitter. I keep coming back to the recommendation from someone knowledgeable that I contracted to advise me how to go forward from where I am to the NY Times bestseller list. Ugh. I’m hoping to find a bored college student who will do it for me for a reasonable fee.

tweetCan’t I just write?

5 thoughts on “Publicity

  1. Personally, it seems to me that very few people are going to be as passionate about your books than you, the author. The way I’ve thought about it since Belle Whittington came to speak to our writers group about marketing her books is that it’s similar to the way I run my phone business.

    Yes I would much rather be out installing and fixing telephone systems. Unfortunately, I spend more time finding people who need telephone systems and need them fixed. Then there is billing and paying vendors and product development and technical training and on and on and on.

    So if you want to be successful in writing, it would appear that you not only have to write the books but promote them as well… at the very least to the publisher but then after that, even if the publisher has a strong marketing presence you still need to push your own book. There is something to be said about speaking appearances and book signings because then the reader then has a personal connection with you (no matter how brief) and is more likely to recommend your book to others.

    • All that is definitely true. But as an engineer, I got to choose if I would go into business for myself, potentially making more but having to market, or work for somebody else because marketing isn’t something I wanted to do or was particularly good at. In writing, it seems you don’t have a choice.

      Whine, whine, whine.

Leave a Reply

