New Cover Art!

Once again, the cover artist at Soul Mate Publishing has outdone herself. Just got the first cover art draft for Strange Bedfellows, and not unexpectedly, I’m absolutely delighted.

I asked Debby (Founder and Senior Editor) if the cover artist was the same as for Return from Avalon (and Points West), but she is typically busier than a one-legged man in an ass kicking contest and hasn’t answered yet.

So without further ado, here it is.

Strange Bedfellows CoverMy only comment back, besides how much I love it, was:

The love potion is in too big a container (a ‘flask’ instead of a ‘vial’). There should only be enough for a single use. It’s distilled down, so it should look thick.  Here’s my vision of a vial, although I’m definitely not hard core about this (think the neck adds more interest than just a straight glass vial).  I like the cork a lot, so it could go in the vial.

Definitely my fault. I indicated “bottle of love potion” as one of the key objects in the book. Here’s the image I included in the email.

vial Strange Bedfellows is due out in March. We’re well along in the editing process, so I don’t expect any hitches there.

ON AN UNRELATED TOPIC: If you haven’t checked out the 3-author interview series that Stella is writing for the Examiner, you need to. The interview format has become more interactive, more snarky, and more fun. This week we’re writing a fiction vignette with the 3 (or maybe 4?) of us alternating paragraphs. That’ll be out this coming Sunday.

Examiner Article 1-12-14

 

10 thoughts on “New Cover Art!

  1. My only suggestion other than what you have already pointed out, would be to make the map more of a road map type of map instead of an old fashion (pirate looking) map that is already there. They did go on a road trip and I think that would be more befitting the story line.

  2. I like it. At least they didn’t add “No. 9” to the label on the bottle. 🙂 I guess they had to have a bigger bottle because the label might not fit on your vial… no label, no way to tell what it is.

    I always thought the Berumuda Triangle was… I don’t know… closer to Bermuda?

    That map seems closer to South America.

    There I go, picking nits again… The beach scene really does it for me. That’s where I want to be… off to get a lotto ticket.

  3. Perfect cover. Again. Isn’t it great to work with professionals? As for the accuracy, I think the only time readers complain is when the cover is misleading. (For example, if you had Rob Lowe as a model for Walt!) The bottle v vial wouldn’t bother me nor would the map. The cover would definitely get me to turn to the back blurb.

  4. I agree with your take on the vial….but I would also soften the light a bit for a more romantic feel. Anyway looking forward to this book too..

Leave a Reply

