I Resolve . . .

2013 was a remarkable year for me, and for many of you as well.  I confess to being a little sad to see it go, but like somebody once said (I think it was Chaucer’s wife, but experts are of mixed opinions), “Time and Tide wait for no man.” So, bye 2013.

Welcome, 2014. Wonder what you’re gonna be like? Can hardly wait to read the headlines.

“Congress Republicans and Democrats Agree, pass long-needed legislation!”

“Peace treaty signed between Israel and Pakistan!” 

“Scientist explains what makes women tick!”

I’m guessing, probably not. But hey, you never know.

So . . . made any resolutions? I mean besides losing some weight, working out more, spending quality time with family and friends, those old standbys. Looking for some ideas? Here are a few.

1.  Read more.  Used to be, people who had to wait read. Airports, doctors’ waiting rooms, waiting in cars for their kids to get out of school. Now the mobile device has rendered that obsolete. Now in your average airport waiting area, 99% of the travelers are staring at their phones. Yes, I understand, Candy Crush is so compelling. But that’s so 2013.

2.  Read something different.  It’s easy to get into a reading rut. 41 straight Sci-Fi novels, and picking #42. Try something different for a change. Maybe set a goal for 4 during the year.

3.  Write.  If you’ve never indulged in the dark arts, set a modest goal.  A short story by Easter, a poem for your significant other’s birthday, and a 4-page memoir to send out with your Christmas cards. What the heck, you’ve always wanted to. 2014 may be the year.

4.  Finish that novel.  Bruce, this Bud’s for you. And SusanH. And Heather. Lisa and Nick. And a lot more of you I don’t know about. You’ve all positioned yourself to meet this astonishing goal. 2014’s your year. I can’t wait to celebrate with you. I’ll even bring the champagne.

I intend to finish 2 novels in 2014, although there’s a 50-50 chance that one is a rewrite. The first is a no-brainer: I finished Chapter 46 this morning, and the word count eased up over 89,000. Not sure what’s coming next, but I have a novel waiting to get out plus a hankering to rework Bradley Schuster and the Holy Grail and get it out there.

I resolve that my next novel is going to have a pet in it. Probably a dog, but it could be a cat. Not sure if they will have their own internal dialog or not; have to wait and see.

My friends, it’s gonna be a great year.

writing-cup

16 thoughts on “I Resolve . . .

  1. Paraphrasing Neil Gaiman:
    In 2014, I resolve to make mistakes because if I’m making mistakes . . . I’m Doing Something. (This may sound too easy, but my esteemed writing partner knows that it can be a challenge for me.)

    My two cents? A cat. Without a doubt, feline internal dialog is snarky.

    Happy, healthy, peaceful, strong 2014 wishes for all.

  2. Happy 2014! Wow. Odd to say, think, or even type that. The speed with which time flies is surreal.
    An animal? I can see an animal coming into play. If the novel is one which Morgan has a voice, I suspect a cat. If it’s a book that reminds me of Rick’s type of story, I may lean toward expecting a dog. Time will tell!

    What Rusty said: Finish it. There’s something about finishing. . .

    I agree with you, Rusty. 2013 was wonderful. If 2014 follows on this same path, it is destined to be better. 🙂

    PS. Susan, I’m looking forward to reading something. 🙂

  3. For the record.

    I resolve in 2014 is to complete DEEP BLUE by the end of January and WANDERER by the beginning of the summer.

    I will make every effort to have both published by the end of the year.

    Thanks for the encouragement.

    Also for the record, I’m convinced that 2014 will be your year, Rusty.

    • Wow. You’re going to complete 2 novels by summer but 2014 is going to be MY year? Seriously, thanks. And noble goals. I hope your “beginning of summer” means to finish a complete draft, not a polished work. If not, I caution you to leave time for the perfection and richness of words.

      • Both novels are already half done. DEEP BLUE is already pretty well planed out so I just need to finish writing the story. WANDERER is technically complete but needs to be filled out some. As it stands, it is a little one dimensional and needs quite a bit of coloring to it, not to mention some structural changes.

        The reason I want to finish DEEP BLUE first is because I began that project by developing the structure with both Voegler’s Hero’s Journey and Sheldon’s Beat Sheet in mind. It’s my hope that once I do that from ground up, I’ll be better equipped to go back and fix WANDERER so that I can form it into a little better structure.

        From what I’ve read and heard, perfection and richness are things that come in the rewrites, not in the original draft. Having said that, I will tell you that some of the best passages I’ve ever written came out of the Nano boiler. Some of the worst too but it did help to stay with my characters the entire time. I’ve found that it’s been difficult to get back into the kelpie saddle since I’ve taken a forced break from writing.

        My heroes are currently recovering from battle in the Arctic Ocean kingdom of the selkies and are well on their way to the mighty city of Atlantis to stop a terrible war.

        God, ain’t writing fun?

      • No, silly, Rick is the Tom cat. Missy is/was in heat. How could Rick resist? Right?

        Only joking about a cat, of course, knowing your depth of feeling on this subject. But your post did make me think of how fitting your voice would be for a cat. Perfectly on point. But I’m not seriously suggesting a RR story with a talking/thinking cat. LOL.

Leave a Reply

